When you can’t run, paint

Or do something you might not love but at least tolerate.

I am awful at resting. I’ll be the first to admit I have a running addiction, but it becomes a serious problem when an injury comes along and I refuse to let my body heal. I had a bad ankle sprain in October, so bad in fact that I got it X-rayed to make sure I hadn’t sustained a fracture. I did decently well with resting but have noticed a little joint stiffness that contributed to a plantar fasciitis and Achilles tendinitis flare-up in the opposite foot the past month.

I ran a 50K “just for fun” at a state park, and I had to stop several times in the last 9 miles to stretch my calves. That night my Achilles was so inflamed that it looked like a red and white rubber band on the back of my heel. I’m pretty lucky not to have ruptured it, to be honest. For someone who relies on athleticism to ward off depression and anxiety, though, taking a rest day isn’t so simple.

I have found an outlet in painting some of my running adventures. Although I may not have real talent, it gives me a certain sort of solace to commit an adventure to artistic memory.

In better news, I have been going to physical therapy for my PF and AT and running is starting to look promising again. I also have a birthday run planned next week, so stay tuned,

x

Published by courtneybc09

I like running. Running's my favorite. More accurately, I love being outdoors, mountain vistas, drinking filtered water from streams, and the resilience and problem solving skills that come from being on the trails. I was training for a BQ when COVID-19 hit, and I've since slowed down my pace considerably, upping my mileage and having more fun at a snail's pace.

One thought on “When you can’t run, paint

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started