Run your age!

My birthday was in the beginning of March, and while I’ve been low on blogging I’ve been high on adventures. I did something I’d never done before and took the day off work to run my age. What should have been 28 miles turned into 30 as I’m not good at maps. I have tried to use caltopo several times, but while the maps are decent I accidentally cut corners and the elevation gain always shows as zero, which of course is impossible (if anyone has any pointers, I’m all ears!).

Trying to run 30 miles in early March in the foothills is tricky, and I ended up doing a lot of road miles and connecting three local trail systems at lower elevation. I had a few friends join me the first bit and even got to open a birthday gift!

The view from my birthday run

I’ve never liked making a big deal of my own birthday, but why not? In the words of a great philosopher, “YOLO.”

I’ve been ramping up my training to get ready for the summer season and some big epic runs, and I PR’d at the 5K last week (I think) so I think my switch to focus on weight lifting and speed workouts is helping. Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on one’s perspective), the snowpack throughout the Cascades this year is above average and some of my favorite trails will be buried for at least another month.

The spring has been mild and the wildflowers here are even more spectacular than usual. Happy running!

x

Published by courtneybc09

I like running. Running's my favorite. More accurately, I love being outdoors, mountain vistas, drinking filtered water from streams, and the resilience and problem solving skills that come from being on the trails. I was training for a BQ when COVID-19 hit, and I've since slowed down my pace considerably, upping my mileage and having more fun at a snail's pace.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started