Touch All the Lakes FKT

I went for an FKT this weekend, the Ancient Lakes Touch all the Lakes challenge. There are 20 named lakes in the Quincy Wildlife area, and the challenge is to physically touch them all as fast as possible.

I tried the route with a friend the week before, but we missed a lake (my fault), and it would have added at least six miles onto our run to go back and get it.

So I set out again today, this time alone. I started out at the upper Ancient Lakes trailhead, veering off onto the dirt track beside the canal. I took the canal all the way to Flat Lake and then to Burke Lake. I then took a dirt road to Evergreen Reservoir, which I crossed on a shallow section and then ran cross-country until Cree Lake. I touched that one and then ran up to bag all small lakes in the upper cluster.

I missed one — Crystal Lake — and had to backtrack a little, then I dropped down to Dusty Lake. I crossed over the coulee and down to Ancient Lakes. I hit them all pretty quickly but drew a few heads from some people camping on the shore when I charged straight past them into shoulder-deep reeds and plunged into a lake.

I climbed up the waterfall section from Ancient Lakes, and that’s where I ran into a bit of trouble. I was unable to scope out the best approach from my position and thought I needed to climb high up the boulder field in order to put myself over the waterfall. When I got up there, though, I ended up on a slick slope of pebbly dirt, scree, and loose rocks. One rock the size of my head dislodged and slid down, narrowly missing my right foot. I had to dig my fingers into the dirt and shimmy across the slope, balancing my weight between three holds at once and staying close to the ground. I eventually made it up above the waterfall and from that point could see a better path I could have taken up. Oh, well! At least I didn’t hurt myself.

The final four lakes were much easier. I touched Judith Pool, H, Lake, and then accidentally got my feet soaked in Quincy Lake since I sunk down into the reeds. I bagged Stan Coffin Lake last and then sprinted back up to my car.

I ended up clocking 17.28 miles in 4 hours and 32 minutes. It was a good day to be outdoors! Now time to take a nap.

Published by courtneybc09

I like running. Running's my favorite. More accurately, I love being outdoors, mountain vistas, drinking filtered water from streams, and the resilience and problem solving skills that come from being on the trails. I was training for a BQ when COVID-19 hit, and I've since slowed down my pace considerably, upping my mileage and having more fun at a snail's pace.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started